A bird’s eye view of the pavilion reveals the flower-shaped roof construction that gives the pavilion its name. The pentagonal floor plan dispenses with symmetrical axes, enhancing a sense of the pavilion’s non-directional openness and lightness.

The construction is based on the principle of structural reciprocity; it is a so-called reciprocal frame structure in which all load-bearing elements rest on one another in a way that continuously reduces its span until the roof is eventually closed in a ring-shaped configuration.

The constant height of the beams, along with the shorter span of each successive ring, increases beam inclination so that the opening of the roof becomes larger as it rises upwards. The roof beams protrude laterally into a triangular shape, such that the shape of the roof structure simultaneously forms the roof cladding.

The pavilion’s column shape merges with beams and roof cladding to form a complex overall structure. Their shape follows the flow of gravity in the construction with a widening of the column foot and roof connection.

Though wild and expressive-looking from the outside, a look at the pavilion’s roof from below reveals its structural logic.

The pavilion derives symbolic character from its creative and constructive fusion into a spatially complex structure and its white colour, which sets it apart from the surrounding greenery.

The geometric play of the construction, which is only gradually revealed during a visit to the pavilion, is analogous to the structural beauty of a rose blossom – like the ones that can be admired in the neighbouring rose garden.

In der Vogelperspektive erkennt man die blumenkelchartige Dachkonstruktion, die dem Pavillon seinen Namen verleiht. Die fünfeckige Grundrissfigur kommt ohne Symmetrieachsen aus, was die richtungslose Offenheit und Leichtigkeit des Pavillons stärkt.

Die Konstruktion basiert auf dem Prinzip eines reziproken Tragwerks, einem sogenannten Hebelstabwerk, bei dem sich alle Tragelemente so aufeinander abstützen, dass ihre Spannweite immer weiter verringert und das Dach ringartig geschlossen wird.

Bei gleichbleibender Höhe der Stäbe nimmt mit der Verkürzung der Spannweite in jedem aufeinanderfolgenden Ring die Neigung der Stäbe zu, sodass die Öffnung des Daches nach oben steiler wird. Die Stäbe des Daches kragen seitlich zu einer dreieckigen Form aus. So bildet das Dachtragwerk durch seine Formgebung gleichzeitig die Dachhaut.

Die Stützen des Pavillons verschmelzen mit Trägern und Dachhaut zu einer komplexen Gesamtstruktur. Ihre Form folgt mit der Verbreiterung an Stützenfuß und Dachanschluss dem Kraftfluss in der Konstruktion.

Während das Dachtragwerk von außen wild und expressiv wirkt, wird durch die Untersicht im Inneren des Pavillons die Struktur der Dachkonstruktion erkennbar.

Die Zeichenhaftigkeit des Pavillons resultiert aus der gestalterischen und konstruktiven Verschmelzung zu einer räumlich komplexen Struktur, die sich mit ihrer weißen Farbe vom Grün der Umgebung abhebt.

Mit dem geometrischen Spiel der Konstruktion, das sich erst sukzessive beim Besuch des Pavillons vermittelt, entsteht eine Analogie zur strukturellen Schönheit der Blüte einer Rose – wie sie im benachbarten Rosengarten bewundert werden kann.