In the 1950s, architect Paul Schneider-Esleben created one of the most extraordinary church buildings of modern times with his design for Düsseldorf’s St. Rocco’s Church. In its three segments, each comprising a flat, circular section and a parabola-like domed shell, revolve about a central point. Unfortunately, architect and client quarrelled shortly before its completion and the interior of the church was finished without the involvement of Schneider-Esleben. Despite several attempts at remodelling in the interim it has never provided a satisfactory setting for worship.

Our approach abandons the eastern orientation of the interior in favour of a rotationally symmetrical arrangement of chairs and pulpit locations in which the altar occupies the centre of the space. The lack of fixed points to guide orientation and the reversed curves of the rows of chairs heighten the feeling that the space is in constant movement.

The room is cleared of all additional clutter. This reinforces the overpowering impression of space, which is created primarily by its highly complex geometry. The seating is movable but the altar and pulpits are fixed, helping the congregation make sense of the space.

This is what the dome looked like when an angry Schneider-Esleben abandoned the project during the construction of the shell. Since then, rather than the sound-control plaster planned by the architect, it has received nothing more than a coat of paint. As a result, the acoustics remain unsympathetic to the spoken word to this day.

For us, the solution to the problem of improving the building’s acoustics without modifying the existing structure lay in the treatment of the shell, in making alterations to its surfaces to enhance its form. At the same time, barely perceptible corrections to the ingress of natural light and the use of artificial light increase the impact of the space as a place of contemplation.

The congregation’s participation in services will be extended to include setting out the seating before a service. To increase the visual effect of the space, the chairs will be kept around the edge of the curved shell outside services and only brought into the centre for mass, when the whole congregation gathers below the dome.

It will then be possible to hold services without chairs – as here for the children from the surrounding schools, for example.

Der Architekt Paul Schneider-Esleben hat in den 1950er-Jahren mit der Düsseldorfer Rochus-Kirche einen der außergewöhnlichsten Kirchenbauten der Neuzeit geschaffen. Drei Segmente aus kreisförmigem flachen Teil und parabelartiger Kuppelschale rotieren um ein Zentrum. Leider haben sich Architekt und Bauherr kurz vor der Fertigstellung zerstritten; der Kircheninnenraum wurde ohne Beteiligung von Schneider-Esleben fertiggestellt und seitdem mehrere Male umgestaltet, ohne jemals einen zufriedenstellenden Rahmen für Gottesdienste geboten zu haben.

Unser Ansatz gibt die Ostung des Innenraums auf zugunsten einer rotationsgeometrischen Anordnung von Gestühl und Ambo- Standorten. Der Altar füllt die Mitte. Der Verzicht auf Orientierung bietende Fixpunkte und die Gegenkrümmung der Stuhlreihen verstärken das Gefühl, als sei der Raum in einer ständigen Bewegung.

Der Raum wird freigeräumt von sämtlichen verunklarenden Zutaten. So verstärkt sich der überwältigende Raumeindruck, der von allem aus seiner hochkomplexen Geometrie gespeist wird. Das Gestühl ist beweglich, während Altar und Ambonen an fixierten Stellen helfen, den Raum auch rational verstehen zu können.

So sah die Kuppel aus, als Schneider-Esleben während des Rohbaus hochverärgert aus dem Projekt ausstieg. Sie ist seitdem nur mit einem Anstrich versehen worden, auf den vom Architekten vorgesehenen Akustikputz hat man verzichtet. Deshalb ist das gesprochene Wort bis heute dort kaum verständlich.

Den Ausweg aus dem Dilemma, zur Verbesserung der Raumakustik an irgendeiner Stelle in den Bestand eingreifen zu müssen, sehen wir in der Behandlung der Raumschale. Zugunsten der Form des Raumes verändern sich seine Oberflächen. Kaum merkliche Korrekturen von Tageslichteinfall und Kunstlichteinsatz steigern die Wirkung des Raumes als Ort der Kontemplation.

Die Teilhabe der Gemeinde am Gottesdienst wird um das Aufstellen der Stühle vor Beginn der Messe erweitert. Um die Raumwirkung zu steigern, stehen die Stühle außerhalb des Gottesdienstes am Rand der Konchen. Nur für die Heilige Messe werden sie in die Mitte getragen, sodass sich die Gemeinde unter der Kuppel versammelt.

Auch ohne Stühle werden Gottesdienste gefeiert – mit den Kindern der umliegenden Schulen.