The members of Mathildenhöhe artists’ colony lived and worked on the hill under the patronage of Grand Duke Ernst Ludwig von Hessen-Darmstadt from 1899 to 1914. At the artists’ first exhibition in 1901, the colony’s ideas were expressed in art, but also structurally in the form of houses and a workshop building.

Joseph Maria Olbrich designed a group of artists’ houses arranged symmetrically along a line leading up the slope towards the workshop building. Olbrich placed his own house opposite the workshop building to the east and that of painter Hans Christiansen to the west. Destroyed during the Second World War, Christiansen’s house was never rebuilt and the plot remained empty until it was selected as the site for the new museum in 2010.

Our design imagined a small structure in place of Christiansen’s house that would occupy the same space as the original but look completely different.

The arrangement of the Olbrich and Christiansen houses, slightly rotated in relation to the workshop building, goes back to Olbrich’s original design, which imposed a rigid symmetry on the whole complex.

The part of our proposed design for the museum that is visible above ground follows the original symmetrical concept in terms of both volume and orientation. By contrast, most of the exhibition space is set into the slope of Mathildenhöhe Hill and invisible from the outside.

What appears from the outside to be a relatively small structure boasts surprisingly generous proportions within, comprising a single large space that connects all the levels.

The open, airy feel of Mathildenhöhe Hill is mirrored inside the museum, where two windows and a roof terrace link the otherwise enclosed art collection to its surroundings.

Die Darmstädter Künstlerkolonie bestand von 1899 bis 1914. Auf Initiative des Großherzogs Ernst Ludwig von Hessen-Darmstadt lebte und arbeitete eine Gruppe von Künstlern in dieser Zeit gemeinsam auf der Mathildenhöhe. Für die erste Ausstellung der Künstler im Jahr 1901 manifestierte sich der Koloniegedanke auch baulich in Form von Wohnhäusern und einem Ateliergebäude.

Joseph Maria Olbrich entwarf ein städtebauliches Ensemble von Künstlerhäusern, die sich entlang einer den Hang ansteigend auf das Ateliergebäude zuführenden Achse symmetrisch gruppieren. Vor dem Atelierhaus platzierte Olbrich im Osten sein eigenes Wohnhaus, westlich befand das Haus des Malers Hans Christiansen. Nach der Zerstörung im Zweiten Weltkrieg wurde das Haus Christiansen nicht wiederaufgebaut, das Grundstück blieb leer – bis es 2010 für das neue Museum ausgewählt wurde.

Unser Entwurf sah an der Stelle des Hauses Christiansen einen kleinen Baukörper vor, der das Volumen der das Volumen der historischen Künstlerhäuser aufweist, aber nicht wie ein solches aussieht.

Die Setzung der Häuser Olbrich und Christiansen und ihre leichte Verdrehung gegenüber dem Ateliergebäude entstammt der ursprünglichen von Olbrich konzipierten starke Symmetrie der Gesamtanlage.

Der oberirdisch sichtbare Teil unseres Vorschlags für das Museum folgt dem Symmetriegedanken in Volumetrie und Ausrichtung. Der Großteil der Ausstellungsräume ist in den Hang der Mathildenhöhe geschoben und von außen nicht zu sehen.

Die räumliche Großzügigkeit der Mathildenhöhe findet ihr Pendant im Innern des Museums. Zwei Fenster und eine Dachterrasse verknüpfen die ansonsten abgeschottete Kunstsammlung mit dem Ort.

Das außen klein wirkende Volumen überrascht im Innern als ein großer Raum, der alle Ebenen miteinander verbindet.