Set in Adorf’s historic centre, the new museum building occupies a site on the medieval town wall never previously built on. It sits between the Freiberger Gate – Vogtland’s only remaining town gate, which will continue to house the local history museum – and a historic half-timbered building with which it will form the new home for Germany’s largest collection of mother-of-pearl.

The design is inspired by the structure of the freshwater pearl mussel, which combines a rough outer shell and a contrastingly exquisite interior. The curvature of the outer wall and the board-formed finish of the concrete evoke the mussel’s shell while the water rilling down the façade and into a stream makes reference to the medium that gives it life.

When the freshwater pearl mussel has reached maturity, it attaches itself to the bed of a stream and filters nutrients from the water that flows past it. Adorf was a major centre of freshwater pearl mussel fishing in Europe at a time when their pearls – one in every 2000 shells – were highly prized and their shells used in the craft production of a host of everyday objects.

The town wall also shapes the look and feel of the interior of the Mother-of-Pearl Museum. Forming one wall of the patio that rises up through all three levels, it provides a visible reference to the place and its history.

Light falls through the glass-covered patio onto the town wall and into the foyer, making the old stonework visible from the outside.

Large parts of the wall that once protected medieval Adorf from unwelcome visitors are still standing today, shaping the look of the modern town.

The new build connects the various floors of the Freiberger Gate on one side and the old half-timbered building on the other. The tour begins on the top floor and leads down to the foyer. As they pass through the buildings, visitors can also take in the Local History Museum, housed in the Freiberger Gate.

Im historischen Ortskern von Adorf füllt der Museumsneubau ein zuvor noch nie bebautes Grundstück an der mittelalterlichen Stadtmauer. Er grenzt an das Freiberger Tor, das einzig erhaltene Stadttor des Vogtlands, in dem das Heimatmuseum verbleibt, und bildet zusammen mit dem benachbarten historischen Fachwerkhaus die neue Heimat für die größte Perlmuttsammlung in Deutschland.

Das Gestaltungsmotiv ist aus dem Aufbau der Flussperlmuschel abgeleitet: raue Schale und kostbares Inneres stehen im Kontrast und sind doch eins. Die Krümmung der Außenwand und die Brettschalung des Betons transformieren das Bild einer Muschelschale. An der Fassade herunterlaufendes und in einen Brunnen fließendes Wasser verweist auf die Lebensgrundlage der Muscheln.

Nachdem die Flussperlmuschel als Parasit in der Bachforelle zu Größe gekommen ist, besteht ihr Dasein darin, auf dem Grund des Baches liegend Nahrung aus dem vorbeifließenden Wasser zu filtern. Adorf war ein Zentrum der Flussperlmuschelfischerei in Europa. Begehrt waren die Perlen, die man in jeder 2000sten Muschel fand, aus den anderen Muscheln fertigte man kunsthandwerklich allerhand Gebrauchsgegenstände.

Die Stadtmauer prägt auch das innere Erscheinungsbild des Perlmuttmuseums. Als Wand des sich über alle Geschosse erstreckenden Patios ist sie die sichtbare Referenz von Ort und Historie.

Durch den glasüberdeckten Patio fällt das Licht auf die Stadtmauer und bis in den Foyerbereich. Die alten Steine der Mauer werden so schon von außen erkennbar gemacht.

Die Stadtmauer, die Adorf im Mittelalter vor ungebetenen Gästen schützte, ist heute noch in großen Teilen erhalten und prägt das Bild der Stadt.

Der Neubau verbindet die verschiedenen Ebenen des Freiberger Tores und des alten Fachwerkhauses. Der Rundgang beginnt in den obersten Etagen und führt nach unten zurück ins Foyer. Auf dem Weg durch die Häuser kann auch das Heimatmuseum im Freiberger Tor besichtigt werden