The cloud simulator consists of an up to eight-metre-long vertically positioned double-walled flow tube through which the cloud flows. The tube stands in the middle of a windowless cylindrical tower in which highly stable environmental conditions are generated. Researchers study the formation of a cloud in a test tube and most of all the changes to it due to human influence.

The other peripheral laboratories and offices are arranged on the ground floor around the 16-meter-tall tower in the centre housing the cloud simulator. The symbolic typology of the building as well as the design elements such as the blue and yellow skylights are derived from the world of cloud research.

In order to reduce the cost-intensive field tests used for cloud research the Leibniz-Institut für Troposphärenforschung (Leibniz Institute for Tropospheric Research) developed a method for drawing clouds into the laboratory. This was done using a cloud simulator completely newly designed by researchers from the institute that reduces natural clouds to a linear particle stream (the pink tube left in the photo).

The Stockholm Public Library by Gunnar Asplund (1928)

The architectural form was not found by following the emotionalised concept of ‘clouds’ to create a ‘cloudy’ amorphous building. Rather, the cloud laboratory is more of a visual expression of a highly technical machine focussed solely on cloud mastery in a test tube.

Der Wolkensimulator besteht aus einem bis zu acht Meter langen vertikal angeordneten Strömungsrohr, das doppelwandig ausgebildet ist und von der Wolke durchströmt wird. Das Rohr steht in der Mitte eines zylindrischen fensterlosen Turms, in dem wiederum hochstabile Umgebungsbedingungen erzeugt werden. Es entsteht eine Wolke im Reagenzglas, deren Bildung und vor allem Veränderung durch menschliche Einflüsse untersucht wird.

Um den im Zentrum stehenden 16 Meter hohen Turm mit dem Wolkensimulator sind im Erdgeschoss die weiteren peripheren Labor- und Büroräume angeordnet. Wie die symbolhafte Typologie des Gebäudes sind auch die Gestaltungselemente, beispielsweise die blauen und gelben Oberlichter, aus der Welt der Wolkenforschung abgeleitet.

Um die kostspieligen Feldversuche in der Wolkenforschung einzuschränken, entwickelte das Leibniz-Institut für Troposphärenforschung einen Weg, sich die Wolken ins Labor zu holen. Dies geschieht mit einem von Forschern des Instituts völlig neu entwickelten Wolkensimulator, der die natürliche Wolke auf einen linearen Partikelstrahl reduziert (das rosafarbene Röhrchen links im Bild).

Die Stadtbibliothek in Stockholm von Gunnar Asplund (1928)

Für die architektonische Formfindung wurde nicht der Weg gewählt, der über die Verarbeitung des emotionalisierenden Themas „Wolken“ führt, also kein „wolkiges“ Gebäude, keine amorphe Form. Das Wolkenlabor ist vielmehr sichtbarer Ausdruck einer hoch technisierten Maschine, bei der sich alles um die Beherrschung der Wolke im Reagenzglas dreht.