This snapshot was taken by Benedikt in Brasília in 1997 while visiting the ‘Memorial JK’ by Oscar Niemeyer. The small pavilion in the parking lot of the mausoleum houses the Ford Galaxie 500, the favourite automobile of the legendary Brazilian President Juscelino Kubitschek (1902–76). Schulz und Schulz remembered this motif when they were working on the competition task in Zwickau.

In 2011 Ansgar and Benedikt travelled to Brazil to visit the inspiring reference structure once again.

The glass facade for the campus plaza can be opened using sliding doors to connect the collection and outdoor area with one another for events, for instance.

The central design idea is the typology of a teaching collection where the exhibits are kept in display cases and showcases. The unusual feature of this teaching collection is its type of exhibits: historic automobiles. The building is located in the central campus area of the University of Applied Sciences like a showcase. The exhibits are in a protected framework whose long sides of glass panes provide views into the collection and place the automobiles within the context of their surroundings.

The surrounding framework consists of a single-shell concrete construction that is coated gleaming white on the outside as a reference to auto bodies. The interior is lined with interior insulation in a matte red colour in reference to the classic interior of old-time automobiles.

The inspiration for the FORUM MOBILE lettering, found on a restaurant in Barcelona.

In order to determine the right size for the FORUM MOBILE lettering, some employees travelled to Zwickau to place letter templates they had cut themselves in front of the parapet. This initial version proved to be too small.

A student working group has been working on the development of a collection of historic automobiles at the Institut für Kraftfahrzeugtechnik (Institute for Automotive Engineering) for some years now. In addition to the collection of historic models and documents, the activities are also focussed on the restoration of historic automobiles with relation to Zwickau as a production site. The historic automobile collection is integrated into the education of the future automotive engineers as a ‘Praktikum Historische Fahrzeuge’ (‘Historic Automobiles Internship’).

Diesen Schnappschuss machte Benedikt 1997 in Brasilia bei der Besichtigung des „Memorial JK“ von Oscar Niemeyer. Der kleine Pavillion auf dem Parkplatz des Mausoleums haust den Ford Galaxie 500 ein, den Lieblingswagen des legendären brasilianischen Präsidenten Juscelino Kubitschek (1902–76). An dieses Motiv erinnerten sich Schulz und Schulz, als sie 2007 die Wettbewerbsaufgabe in Zwickau bearbeiteten.

2011 reisten Ansgar und Benedikt nach Brasilia, um den inspirierenden Referenzbau noch einmal zu besuchen.

Die Glasfassade zum Campusplatz lässt sich durch Schiebetüren öffnen, um Sammlung und Außenraum miteinander zu verknüpfen, etwa bei Veranstaltungen.

Die zentrale Entwurfsidee ist der Typologie einer Lehrsammlung entlehnt, bei der die Ausstellungsobjekte in Vitrinen und Schaukästen aufbewahrt werden. Das Außergewöhnliche dieser Lehrsammlung ist die Art der Objekte: historische Automobile. Das Gebäude ist wie ein Schaukasten im zentralen Campusbereich der Fachhochschule angeordnet. Die Exponate stehen in einem schützenden Rahmen, dessen verglaste Längsseiten Einblicke bieten und die Automobile in den Kontext der Umgebung stellen.

Der umlaufende Rahmen besteht aus einer einschaligen Betonkonstruktion, die außenseitig – als Referenz an Autokarosserien – weiß glänzend beschichtet ist. Das Innere ist mit einer umlaufenden Innendämmung ausgekleidet und in Anlehnung an die edle Innenausstattung von Oldtimern mit einem matten Rot ausgestaltet.

Inspiration für den Schriftzug FORUM MOBILE, gefunden an einem Restaurant in Barcelona.

Um die passende Größe für den Schriftzug FORUM MOBILE zu ermitteln, reisten einige Mitarbeiter nach Zwickau, um selbst geschnittene Musterbuchstaben vor die Attika zu platzieren. Diese erste Version erwies sich als zu klein.

Seit einigen Jahren beschäftigt sich am Institut für Kraftfahrzeugtechnik eine studentische Arbeitsgruppe mit dem Aufbau einer kraftfahrzeughistorischen Sammlung. Neben der Sammlung historischer Modelle und Unterlagen liegt der Schwerpunkt der Aktivitäten in der Restaurierung historischer Fahrzeuge mit Bezug zum Produktionsstandort Zwickau. Die kraftfahrzeughistorische Sammlung wird in die Ausbildung der zukünftigen Automobil-Ingenieure einbezogen als „Praktikum Historische Fahrzeuge“.