The existing embassy buildings, as seen here in the view from Reisnerstrasse, interpreted the green border and its impressive stock of trees as a front garden zone, and without a connection to the representative outer embassy zones.

In Vienna, our design was received in a typically local manner: “I can’t believe it! The ignorance of German bureaucracy is actually carrying out the demolition of one of the most beautiful and best buildings by Rolf Gutbrod, while the silly, vain architects tag along. No more than a gentle renovation would have been necessary. Instead, what’s coming now is a really mundane hut smack in the middle of the Viennese embassy district and simply unworthy of the Federal Republic of Germany!” (Dietmar Steiner in BauNetz, 15th April 2016)

The new building will make better use of the potential of the place. As a “green island” in a sea of houses, the German Embassy will be able to radiate the openness to do justice to its extended politico-cultural functions in Vienna. A special diplomatic feature is the linking block between the chancellery and the residence on Reisnerstrasse. It allows flexible crossovers between the official and private areas of the embassy.

To better combine the green space with the building, the building structures partially step back from the prescribed building lines. They subdivide the plot into the chancellery garden, the visa garden, and the residence garden, while a service and supply court is accommodated on the north side. Visitors and employees reach the embassy via the gate on Jauresgasse on the south side.

On the bel étage, the courtyard of the chancellery opens towards the stock of trees. This creates a weatherproof exterior space above the base level which, together with the residence terrace, connects the official wing of the embassy (foyer, reception hall, music room, library) with the garden.

To emphasise the interplay of the white building structures, Krastal marble seems to us to be the most suitable façade material. This stone is extremely weather-resistant and is quarried in Carinthia, whereby the building displays its close connection to the Republic of Austria on the outside as well.

The German Embassy in Brasília, designed by Hans Scharoun, was still in its original condition when we visited it in 2011. The cheerful impression of its roof terrace served as an inspiration for the bel étage of the embassy in Vienna. Unfortunately, seat benches whose backrests serve as fall protection are no longer permitted today.

Die bisherigen Botschaftsgebäude, hier die Ansicht von der Reisnerstraße, interpretierten die grüne Umrahmung mit ihrem eindrucksvollen Baumbestand als Vorgartenzone – ohne Verbindung zu den repräsentativen Außenbereichen der Botschaft.

In Wien wurde unser Entwurf lokaltypisch aufgenommen: „Ich kann’s nicht glauben! Die Ignoranz deutscher Bürokratie vollzieht tatsächlich den Abbruch eines der schönsten und besten Gebäude von Rolf Gutbrod, und die dummen, eitlen Architekten machen mit. Nicht mehr als eine sanfte Sanierung wäre notwendig gewesen. Jetzt kommt dafür eine wirklich banale Hütte, die der BRD, mitten im Wiener Botschaftsviertel, einfach nicht würdig ist!“ (Dietmar Steiner in BauNetz, 15.04.2016)

Der Neubau wird das Potential des Ortes besser nutzen. Als „grüne Insel“ im Häusermeer kann die Deutsche Botschaft jene Offenheit ausstrahlen, die ihren erweiterten kulturpolitischen Funktionen in Wien gerecht wird. Eine diplomatische Besonderheit ist der Verbindungstrakt zwischen der Kanzlei und der Residenz an der Reisnerstraße. Er ermöglicht flexible Übergänge zwischen den amtlichen und den privaten Bereichen der Botschaft.

Um Grünraum und Gebäude besser zu verknüpfen, treten die Baukörper zum Teil hinter die vorgegebenen Baulinien zurück. Sie gliedern das Grundstück in den Kanzlei-, den Visa- und den Residenzgarten, an der Nordseite entsteht ein Wirtschaftshof. Besucher und Mitarbeiter erreichen die Botschaft über die Pforte an der südlich verlaufenden Jauresgasse.

In der Beletage öffnet sich der Innenhof der Kanzlei zum Baumbestand. Damit entsteht oberhalb des Sockelgeschosses ein wettergeschützter Außenraum, der zusammen mit der Residenzterrasse den amtlichen Teil der Botschaft (Foyer, Empfangsraum, Musikzimmer, Bibliothek) und den Garten verbindet.

Um das Zusammenspiel weißer Körper zu betonen, erscheint uns Krastaler Marmor als Fassadenmaterial am besten geeignet. Dieser Stein ist äußerst wetterbeständig und wird in Kärnten abgebaut, wodurch das Gebäude seine enge Beziehung zur Republik Österreich auch nach außen abbildet.

Die Deutsche Botschaft in Brasília von Hans Scharoun war bei unserer Besichtigung 2011 noch im Originalzustand. Die heitere Wirkung ihrer Dachterrasse war ein Vorbild für die Beletage der Botschaft in Wien. Leider sind Sitzbänke, deren Rückenlehne als Absturzsicherung dienen, heute nicht mehr erlaubt.